Common Man – Faithful God

Posted: March 25, 2013 in Devotions

No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.
I Corinthians 10:13 NKJV

I know this is a familiar verse, but it still stirs me up. I remember early in my teenage years when my Bible Quiz Leader assigned us this verse to memorize. He explained it to us clearly. He told us how that as young people we would be told to think that we would have to give in to some of the temptations that we faced but that it wasn’t true. He reminded us about other young people who served God recorded in the Bible. Samuel, David, Jeremiah, Joseph and Daniel to name a few. He taught us how they had maintained holiness in the face of incredible pressure. They had set a standard that cannot be improved upon, but can be set in out own lives and hearts. Whenever things were tough I remembered I was not alone in my temptation and that God was faithful to leave me an escape route so that I could carry whatever I had been trusted with by Him!

A common man with a faithful God.

Leave a comment